{Giveaway} Another great coffee table addition!

Hi Y’all! It’s been a crazy few weeks here in Rosemary Beach, FL. with the buzz of Spring Break all around us. Not to mention everyone, Mountain Brook included, is running around with exciting installs and trying to find the final finishing touches for our Southern Living Idea House in Senoia, Georgia. Sorry we have been M.I.A. for a bit! So to make up for our absence we are offering up TWO copies of another great design book just dying for a coffee table to call home. ‘Coming Home, The Southern Vernacular House’ is the first book by Jim Strickland & Partners of Historical Concepts-who are the architects working with us on the Southern Living Idea House. How appropriate?!

You have all weekend to enter, until 9pm Sunday to be exact! Please leave a comment on this post and tell us what your favorite part of ‘Coming Home’ is? The two winners will be announced Monday. Good luck and ‘may the odds be ever in your favor!’ {yes I have been sucked into reading the Hunger Games lately}

Love,
Bess

64 thoughts on “{Giveaway} Another great coffee table addition!

  1. Since I am away at college, coming home is one of my absolute favorite things! I love being in the comfort of my own home, surrounded by my family. From home-cooked meals to nights spent out on the porch talking, I love all things about ‘Coming Home!’

    Like

  2. This has been the busiest week for us. The Atlanta crowd is here.
    I am always happy to get home. I am more relaxed in my own home, and a pretty good decorator(me) finished the interior, so I am always content. It is wonderful to get a way and be in a new place, but there is nothing like getting back into my routine.
    Teresa
    xoxo

    Like

  3. I’ve moved away from my family so my coming home always involves being with family whenever I get the chance. The ability to relax and catch up in the comfort of the home I grew up in only makes it better!

    Like

  4. I love when our boys and their families come home, usually every couple months! Love cooking all their favorites and enjoying our time together!

    Like

  5. Fun! Fun! Another great giveaway! My favorite part of coming home is my chocolate lab shaking and wagging and giggling and smiling and shedding hair all over the place.

    Like

  6. While I was born and raised in the South and still live here, there is nothing like “coming home” to my parent’s house. They have lived in the same home for 34 years. I love sitting on their front porch where time slows down; reading my mom’s Southern Lady magazines or catching up with neighbors/old friends. Everything remains the same and that is comforting. That is HOME.

    Like

  7. My favorite part of coming home is walking from my parking pad through an iron gate that opens onto a courtyard where I spend most of my time gardening. It feels like another part of the world.

    Like

  8. I love to come home to my own bed, my animals and my yard. It is so green and beautiful here in VA, but I’d love to come to Florida!
    Happy Easter
    Nancy
    Powellbrowerhome.com

    Like

  9. Well I live in my hometown, so that is absolutely wonderful. Going home to me is going to my parent’s house. I love when I go there the warmness my mom has and I love her cooking. I love to sit with the dogs on the couch and just put my feet back and relax.

    Like

  10. *** Bess, how lovely to do this!!!

    We moved about 26-28 times in the 38 years of my husband’s career as a military officer… and making EACH n’ EVERY house a H*O*M*E could be a challenge (sometgimes a HUUUUGE one… sometimes easy, depending on “the house”)… just getting to decorate each home was soooo fun (for me!) tho, and just BEING there, w/ our dawg, where my husband would SOON be also, ALWAYS made me THANKFUL.!!!

    Today it’s STILL all about coming in the door, knowing I’m reeeeealy,fiiiinally “HOME”, in our dream house… Heaven on earth, and no more deployments either!!!

    Warmest wishes,
    Linda in AZ *
    bellesmom1234@comcast.net

    Like

  11. I’m blessed to be able to work out of my home, so I’m here most of the time. My favorite part of the day is when my husband (of 34 years) comes home. I look forward to our evenings together, and his arrival always puts a smile on my face.

    Like

  12. Coming home to me means a safe, relaxing environment for me and my family to enjoy and unwind. It’s filled with laughter and sometimes tears, but it’s a wonderful place to be. I’m a certified “home body” too šŸ™‚

    Like

  13. I love coming home after my housekeeper has freshly cleaned it! Makes me feel like I did a ton of work, but I can still enjoy it cause I’m not exhausted from cleaning! It’s kinda cheating but still a great feeling!

    Like

  14. My husband, two young daughters and I have been in temporary housing between Dallas and Houston the last two years for my husband’s job. We have all been longing to have a real home again. We are back in Dallas now, hopefully for a longtime, and decided to build our dream southern style home. We just closed on the lot and plans are underway! It has been a chaotic two years full of change but it has made us all appreciate each other and our blessings. We all agreed the additional year in our rental is worth the wait but we are all very excited to be “Coming Home” to our new home in the near future!

    Great giveaway!

    Blessings,

    Julie

    Like

  15. I have lived in the same town all of my life, auburn….sometimes I forget how wonderful it is….my dad constantly reminds me what a gift it was to grow up here and now what a gift it is to raise my children here! I am the ultimate homebody and there is nothing like a football Saturday here! War eagle!!,

    Like

  16. The best part about coming home is pulling in the driveway and seeing Remington (our family dog) in the back yard wagging his tail and greeting us at the fence. We always pause to comment on his constant, consistant, never wavering excitement to see us.

    Like

  17. My favorite part of ‘coming home’ is shutting the door, and taking a deep breath and kicking off my shoes, putting on my UGG slippers and comfy clothes and grabbing the mail and seeing that there is a shelter magazine that I can enjoy later when all is quiet…..and maybe even featuring a “Tracery” project. Ahhhh….home!

    Like

  18. I’m an at-home mother of three, and therefore the one who tries to create that great “coming home” feeling for our household. So I asked my husband this question, and he said it’s great that everyone is super happy to see him when he comes in the door after work!

    Like

  19. I love coming home to my sweet dog. No matter what she’s happy to see me.
    Ps- my new coffee table is being delivered tomorrow and the book would look perfect on it!!!

    Like

  20. We live in an old historic home in Fairhope and have an old antique front door with two window panels…my favorite part of coming home is my two little boys smiling faces and dancing toes when they see me arrive home!

    Like

  21. Well I just started my own company and visited my first client in Houston, TX…and they day I was leaving her car got broken into and EVERYTHING was taken…ID, money, cards…everything! So coming home last night to me meant the WORLD! I am thankfully back in Nashville, TN thanks to my PERSISTENT boyfriend who wasn’t going to stop until he got me on that plane and some great TSA people at the airport! SOOOO glad to be HOME!!!!

    And yes…the Hunger Games is ADDICTING! I started it on my plane ride home last night šŸ™‚

    Like

  22. My sweet 13 yr old cat waiting anxiously to roll-over, yes, I said roll-over, on command for treats! She still acts like a young kitty!

    Like

  23. I am away from my home at college right now, so one of my favorite thing about coming home is being with my family, and somehow it is just so much more comfortable than my college apt. Plus- home cooked meals:)

    Like

  24. I am a huge fan of Tracery. I love your blog and I love your finish projects. I think the added addition to the I loves would be the Coming Home coffee table book. Keeping my fingers cross to win. Would love to share it with my clients, friends and family.

    Like

  25. I am an avid fan of Historical Concepts and their work on Southern style homes. The photos in Coming Home are great. My favorite house, and the one that first introduced me to Jim Strickland’s work is the low-country home that I saw featured in Southern Living magazine several years ago. There have been many more homes since the first that have really beckoned and spoken to me. I am sure that the families who are fortunate enough to own one of these beautiful homes are happy to “come” home when their work day is done.

    Like

  26. When I met my now husband the only way I could describe how I felt was that I felt like I was “home”. I visited the south (Charleston) for the first time last year and had a similar feeling. I fell in love again. I love the architecture, the color, the style, the history, and the laid back feeling.

    Like

  27. I have a wonderful home, but my favorite part of coming home is the people in it! As a widow, with two kids away – one in college, and one living abroad – there is nothing better than when they come home šŸ™‚

    Like

  28. From the moment I open the door, I am comforted by the sight of paintings from my children, photos of family gatherings, tiny keepsakes from friends and family and the bright colors of our coastal cottage. After a few steps, I am in the heart of our home where the whole family gathers for every major holiday to share food and laughter. Every time I return, I am certain there is no place I would rather be!

    Like

  29. I loving coming home to my sweet puppy, Maddie. She is always excited to see me and brightens my afternoon! I love coming home to my parents home on Lake Martin. There is no place I would rather be than on my parents pier on Lake Martin enjoying gorgeous lake weather!

    Like

  30. I am originally from the Caribbean, not from the south, but have been living in different southern locations for the last 20 years. I have grown to love the formalities of the south, the manners, friendliness, the foods and especially family traditions. To me family is home – arriving home to smiling faces of children and loved ones. Homes with plenty of space to have many generations of families hanging together. Southern homes have a comfort about them that makes coming home feel welcoming and safe.

    Like

  31. I recently moved back to my hometown (Cullman,AL) after 34 years!! My husband was a military officer and lived all over the world. I am now divorced and decided it was time to come home. It is wonderful to live in a safe, small town and to run into people you haven’t since high school and reconnect with relatives. I am home and happy!

    Like

  32. My favorite part of coming home are the people I come home to–my two kids and husband of 9 years. Where they are is home, no matter what else is happening!

    Like

  33. My favorite part of the day is coming home to my sweet pooch and my husband isn’t half bad either! šŸ˜‰ Would love to win the give away and see their version of “coming home”. It looks beautiful!

    Like

  34. “Coming Home” took on an entirely new meaning 2 weeks ago! My husband’s a homebuilder & we’ve moved 8 times in our 10 year marriage (keep ‘flipping’ homes). With 3 kids, this was getting old! As of 2 weeks ago, I now drive through the woods on our narrow, winding driveway and there it is: our forever white farmhouse with the wraparound porch welcoming us. We built it to look 100-years-old (love Tracery’s Lake Martin house & planking – thank you, Doug Davis’ ‘planktastic’ Pinterest board, too) & I exhale each time I come home. Our family’s finally HOME! If you’re in the Texas Hill Country, come see us!

    Like

  35. Best part of “Coming Home” is slipping on old blue jeans & a comfy sweat shirt + our sweet yellow lab, who’s waiting with wagging tail!– Love HOME!

    Like

  36. Coming home…..returning to a place where the minute you walk in the door everything is familiar, you know you’re safe, surrounded by family and memories that carry you through until you can either return in person or just in your heart.

    Like

  37. The best part of coming home is walking through your door and being surrounded by all the things you love. You feel safe from the world! Your own little piece of heaven. Everyone deserves to live in a beautiful space, doesn’t have to be a mansion just yours!

    Like

  38. The best part of coming home is that spontaneous exhale of all the tension and business that occurred while away. Crossing over the Turtle River bridge, rolling down the car window to smell the sweet aroma of the marsh is all I need.

    Like

  39. My favorite part of coming home is my sweet husband, who can easily turn a bad day upside down.

    Also, my couch. God, I love this couch.

    Like

  40. I can’t think of a better “coming home” than a military homecoming. Later this year my 3 children and I will welcome home daddy for the second time in two years. There is no greater feeling than seeing him step off that plane and all of us running toward him. For the first little bit after the deployment I always feel like the kids and I are like little puppy dogs following him around. After all the time apart we just don’t want to let him out of our sight.
    Looks like a fabulous book!!

    Like

  41. No matter where we have been, coming home usually feels like ahhh, more space. And then I enjoy all of treasured vintage objects and personal design choices that make me happy in my home.

    Like

  42. Coming home has a new meaning to me, since we have been living in an extended stay unit for 8 months waiting for our home to be renovated following a flooding disaster. Even though we are in PA, I love the southern style!

    Like

Leave a Reply

