Day 1 of our 12 days of giveaways

Day 1! Today is the first day of our 12 days of giveaways. The coffee table book 30A Style is a great addition to any home. The book was released in 2011 by author Lynn Nesmith and photographer Jean Allsopp. There are two homes by Tracery included in the book (one is Paige’s own house).

20111211-100409.jpg

So how do you enter? Below comment and tell us your favorite beach memory. We will read them and choose one. Include your email address so we can contact you. Giveaway ends at the end of the day Monday the 12th.

Come back tomorrow for day 2. We have some fun giveaways to come!

30 thoughts on “Day 1 of our 12 days of giveaways

  1. Our annual trip to the beach for Thanksgiving always includes fishing from the shoreline. It never amounts to much in the way of a huge mess of fish, but one
    year my brother-in-law hooked a shark. A 6-ft, jaw-snapping, strong as Hercules
    SHARK. It took four grown men to bring it in and 24 women to yell at them to stop.
    I still have nightmares and I, seriously, have NEVER stepped back into the Gulf of Mexico again.

    Like

  2. My favorite beach memory… In St. John a year ago, I was with my in-laws & we took a charter boat out to a little island called “Sandy Spit” ….it’s also the island where those Corona commercials are filmed. I can remember the bluest sky and the crystal tourquoise blue ocean still to this day. The colors of this beach and all it’s surroundings make this the most tranquil beach I have ever experienced!

    Like

  3. Four years ago, my husband and I were deciding whether we would like a mountain home or a beach home as a second home in retirement. First we went to the mountains of Georgia and North Carolina, but the great mountaintop views could not make up for the steep roads and houses perched 40′ in the air off mountain cliffs. We then drove to the gulf and stopped at Rosemary Beach, and as soon as we stepped onto the white sand, smelled the salt air, and basked in the beautiful sunset, our decision was as clear as the gulf water! We are now homeowners in beautiful Rosemary Beach!

    Like

  4. 2010 1st Thanksgiving @ Rosemary with friends. Watching the sunset every evening and being grateful that our friend that we traveled with was able to experience the AMAZING gifts of the sea with his 11 and 3 year old son, while realizing it would be his last.

    Like

  5. Mine is nothing exciting…just special to me. Annual spring break trip with my boys who are now 16. It started out as family including grandma and grandpa, aunt and auncle, then went to just family as grandma has passed and it was very painful, then on to family and LOTS of friends along…clearly it has evolved but it is alway wonderful!! This last trip was our 2nd trip of the year which was labor day…POURED down rain the entire time but we still had fun shopping and hanging out on the beach in between showers. Best of all, it was the first time to take our dogs and they LOVED the pool at our house and the farmers market at Seaside. My son loves Tracery so our trip also included a visit to your store and purchase of a lovely trunk and frames. Hope to win this book for him.

    Like

  6. Every year we go to the beach with friends and family for Thanksgiving. It’s such a beautiful time of the year at the beach and I feel so blessed to celebrate a holiday away with the people I truly care about. We have an abundance of food surrounded by fabulous views of the Gulf. The long weekend is topped off by the Iron Bowl. Such a fun day filled with more delicious food and an always exciting football game. Someone always goes home mad after the game is over but we keep coming back year after year for more fun, fellowship and football rivalries!!

    Like

  7. I would LOVE to have this book to see the beauty of Rosemary beach that I hear about! We live too far away from water to get to the beach regularly, but have fabulous memories of visiting the ocean as a child with my family. Navigating the rocky shores looking for little pools of crabs and sealife.. I loved it! Can’t wait to have the experience with my kiddos, x

    Like

  8. My children are now making some of my favorite beach memories. We just returned from a California beach vacation and they were happiest playing football on the beach. I love that this is something they all 3 enjoy!
    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  9. We took our first family vaca to Rosemary Beach the summer of the unfortunate oil spill. We thought about canceling since it is a twelve hour drive for us but, we decided to go and support the locals and we were so glad we did! The beach was gorgeous! We ate, swam, rode bikes, and collected seashells all week. Rosemary Beach is a very special place as you know. The architecture, the friendly people and the wonderful food and shops make for a great vacation. We are so excited to return!

    Like

  10. This summer was our first trip to Rosemary and oh my word…we loved every minute of it and booked for Summer 12 as soon as we got back home. My favorite memory was watching our 7 year-old son and 4 year-old twin girls as they saw the beach for the first time. Fully clothed, they ran squealing down the stairs and straight into the water. Sheer and utter joy.

    Like

  11. The beach has been the main player in all of my family memories. My grandmother left NY and spent winters in Hollywood, Florida with her two girls throughout the 1930’s. Her daughter, my mother, began taking my brothers and me to the beach every year when we were very small. The first beach picture I have of my now 29-year old daughter shows her at 10 months old, wearing only a diaper, crawling determinedly through the cold November waters of the gulf – looking so much like a turtle returning to her home! We began spending Thanksgiving week at the Gulf Coast in the late 1970’s – grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins – walking the beach, hunting for shells, chasing crabs by flashlight, enjoying every variation of the sea and weather. My dad passed away in 2010, my mom is in an Alzheimer’s facility – my daughter and her cousins are spread throughout the country and can’t make it home for Thanksgiving anymore, opting for Christmas. But, every year November finds me and my husband – who GETS IT – back at the coast – still loving everything about it, including the bittersweet yet joyous memories. The beach, the birds, the tides, the storms and bright sparkling sunshine have a place in my heart that will be with me always. The peace and sense of rebirth to be found along the waters edge is an awesome thing.

    Like

  12. My dream is to visit your gorgeous beaches along 30A! Each year my family takes a trip to the Oregon coast. We are ‘beach’ people and simply can’t get enough of the sand between our toes, the smell of the salty air and watching our dogs run perfect circles in the sand! xo

    Like

  13. I’m a Texas girl and my family spent every summer at Port Aransas, which was wonderful. But my most funny recent memory, was taking my own little boy to the beach for the first time. At the beach was when he decided he was ready to be potty trained. I remember lots of trips going back and forth all weekend to the shore to the condo and back so he could potty in the toilet. I mean, you can’t really teach a two-year old to just go in his swim trunks in the ocean, right!?

    Like

  14. Watching my pup, Ruby, run herself ragged chasing her soccor ball up and own the beach, entertaining passers by, when finished she would flop herself in the shallows for a rest.All sandy eyed she would look at us with so much happiness, as she loves the beach. She is 12 now and still chomps at the waves as they break at the shore, and she shares the shallows with her sister Henna.It is always a great day for memories when we take our girls to the beach!

    Like

  15. Every summer my family went to the Jersey shore (think clean family fun, not the”Situation”). And each year they held a freckle contest on the boardwalk. My parents always wanted me to enter, but I never did, I hated my freckles, (think Jan Brady).

    Like

  16. Seeing my future, although not engaged yet, daughter in law, running down the street in Seaside so excited to tell me that my son was getting the key to look at the honeymoon cottages…..as a mother of boys I sometimes miss some of the special moments but this is a memory that is priceless! We knew she was “the one”….. they were engaged a few months later and did honeymoon in the cottage.

    Like

  17. * My husband & I were both born n’ raised in So Cal… He went to Viet Nam 3 months after we married (in 1967… I was THREE! Grins!). ANYhoo, he had a “distant relative” he’d never met, & they offered us their grand “apartment”, right on the top, overlooking the water in Laguna Beach, when he returned… We newlyweds, apart for a year, spent T*H*E most glorious FULL MONTH there, as you can imagine!!! We fed the seagulls right from the deck, as they came swooping down, in perfect order every day n’ nite, each one getting some bread. We walked and talked til alllll hours of the morning, right there on the beach below “our place”. We felt so blessed with his safe return, AND this perfect place to reunite… GLORIOUS!

    Thanks for letting me share a teeeny weeeny bit of our almost-BIGGEST FOND MEMORY!

    Linda in AZ *
    bellesmom1234@comcast.net

    Like

  18. This past July we went to Rosemary beach and stayed in a home on one of the lawns. Everyday was spent in the water or on the beach with my husband and two children enjoying each other and every moment together. Its a magical place where you feel removed from the real world and just spend time together, we don’t drive anywhere we just bike and walk to dinner and are completely relaxed. The rhythm of the waves and turquoise water is something that is always special.

    Like

  19. We all lived on the beach while we attended university…yes, life was rough wasn’t it? So of course I have many, many fond beach memories from that time. But my favorite is riding my boyfriend’s (now husband’s) skateboard between fraternity parties and stealing late night kisses between the beach houses. I can still remember the cold sand in my flip flops and the waves crashing in the background….ah to be young.

    Like

  20. As I sit here thinking over all the wonderful memories my family and I have shared on the Beaches of South Walton, I realize the memory that I will keep with me forever is not so much one particular story or event but the feeling we all have when we finally reach 30A after a long road trip and see that beautiful ocean! There are no words to describe the feeling of peace and calm that comes over us. It is “our beach”!

    Like

  21. On my first trip to Destin, I went for a run on the beach. It was mid morning and there were quite a few people swimming. As I was admiring the crystal clear, turquoise water, I realized there was a shark swimming parallel to me about 20 feet away. It stayed next to me for about a 1/2 mile, swimming at the exact same pace. In hindsight, I should have warned the swimmers who were on the other side of the shark (and incite real panic) but I was completely awestruck watching this (4′ or so) creature who seemed to be watching me at the same time. We have since bought property in Santa Rosa Beach and I think about that amazing moment from 10 years ago every time I go to the beach.

    Like

  22. Favorite is every summer for two or three weeks we pack up and head out to the house in Montauk. Soooooooo relaxing, its a time to worry about nothing, I get up every morning at 6, check my emails, grab my book and beach bag take my chair (which I keep near the beach) and walk down the narrow path to the grand ocean where there is normally not a soul at that time of the morning. Its me, my book, the sun just peeking out of the clouds and beautiful crashing waves…it is pure bliss if I have ever known it. Eventually the kids and rest of the gang join me, and its always a full day of sun, relaxation quality family time and total peace.
    It is to me, simple the ultimate.

    Like

  23. The first trip to the beach each summer. I can’t get out onto the beach fast enough! Gotta wiggle my toes in the sand, take a walk, pick up a few shells and just listen to the waves! Instant serenity…

    Like

  24. Several years ago we were staying at Seagrove Beach…. it was our two year old grandson’s first trip to the beach…he did not like how the sand felt on his hands and feet so he tipped toed around with arms extended. He looked so funny—of course we laughed until we couldn’t.

    Like

  25. Lots of them as a child at Cherry Grove, Beach, SC, but favorite memory (memories) is playing all day as a child in the sun, ocean and pool and being so exhausted in such a good way!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

