a vignette (and some assorted shout-outs to our friends)

Hey, it’s Doug…I hope everyone had a great weekend.  I spent yesterday cleaning my house and moving some things around (I have seriously neglected my house during our recent shop renovation and move here in Mountain Brook).  I have a big round table in the corner of my living room beside my sofa, and it’s always a little bit of a challenge to style it.

A pedestal table fills in the corner between my sofa and chair in my Living Room. The table is from Tracery, and the chair from Richard Tubb Interiors in Birmingham. The AWESOME chevron pillow is from High Street Market's shop on Etsy.

The lamp (a vintage piece I scored in a local thrift store) and plant have been hanging out on the table for a while now, but I decided to add a few items yesterday to spice things up.  Last Christmas when I was in Chicago, I saw these great antique gauges mounted on steel bases in a shop I visited.  When I was at my parents’ house after I left Chicago, my dad produced a very similar gauge (a speedometer, in fact) from somewhere deep within their barn and gave it to me.  It’s been sitting around my Living Room ever since–but I finally had the epiphany to pair it with one of the great glass and rope cloches that we have in our Mountain Brook shop.  I love these items together!

Vintage speedometer paired with our Judd Glass and Rope Cloche, available in two sizes...$80 as pictured.

I probably should have placed a candle from Tracery in this shot, but I have to tell you that I am really enjoying this one that I picked up at Parish in Montgomery a couple of weeks ago.  Parish is a beautiful shop, if you are in the Hampstead area of Montgomery you should definitely check it out.  It was great to see the shop in person (I’d heard great things about it) and to catch up with the staff there.  It’s always fun to put faces with names from Facebook, blogs, Twitter and Pinterest, right?

And that book?  It’s Brooke and Steve Giannetti’s beautiful new publication…everyone go and order a copy of it!  It’s full of lots of beautiful inspiration…a big congratulations from everyone at Tracery goes to Brooke and Steve for this accomplishment!

I was so excited to have a package from Giannetti Home (Brooke and Steve’ shop in Los Angeles that I really want to see) waiting for me at our shop the other day…I was secretly hoping it was a copy of the book.  Brooke and Steve so kindly sent me a copy and I haven’t put it down since.

I love how Brooke and Steve wrapped the copy of their new book that they sent to me!

I think that’s all there is to tell y’all today…it’s a short week for me.  Paige and I are leaving Friday for New York to go to Market and to check in on the office project we designed that’s wrapping up construction.  We’ll be sure to share lots of photos of our travels.  Have a great week!

5 thoughts on “a vignette (and some assorted shout-outs to our friends)

  1. Thanks so much for the shout out, Doug! We really enjoyed visiting with you when you were in the store. Looking forward to seeing you again soon and dropping by next time we’re in Mountain Brook!

    Like

Leave a Reply

