allium (AKA, keeping it real on a Tuesday night)

Hey, it’s Doug.  Tonight’s an exciting night at my house…writing some contracts and drawing some elevations.  I work in my kitchen a lot when I am trying to get stuff done at home…those of you who’ve been following the blog for a while know that my house is exceptionally small, so the big stainless steel table in my kitchen is really the only place big enough to spread out with my laptop anyway.

So, I’m sitting here looking at these allium peeking over the edge of my laptop…leftovers from a photoshoot from last week (you’ll see those pics soon, promise!).  I don’t know if y’all are familiar with these flowers, but I love them.  Grown from bulbs, they’re actually a member of the same plant family as onions, scallions, and garlic.  I love how fun the round purple clusters of flowers are.  I think I was first introduced to these flowers through photos of Martha Stewart’s garden in Westport.

Martha Stewart's allium border...I just buy mine at the wholesale florist, but this image is inspiring me to plant some bulbs for next spring!

 
Allium were the perfect addition to the lakeside home we had photographed last week.  And they’re casual enough to work well on my kitchen table too.  I found the fun “measured” pitcher I have them arranged in at Star Provisions in Atlanta recently (but I noticed the same item at At Home in Homewood recently, Bham friends…).  The numerous bottles of Pellegrino on my table are also leftover photoshoot props…no sparkling water being consumed at my house, just SmartWater.  Well okay, and that glass of Malbec just inside the frame of the photo 🙂
 
Hope y’all are having a great Tuesday night!
 
 
[Martha photos from here]

7 thoughts on “allium (AKA, keeping it real on a Tuesday night)

  1. Thank so much for stopping by…what a thrill as I am a HUGE fan of your work and you better believe when I buy my beach house I will be calling on you as you are the ultimate beach house decorator, well you are the ultimate decorator but you really know how to decorate one heck of a mean beach house:)I love allium too…..such a pretty natural flowering plant and they last a while which is especially nice. The purple is a nice pop of color too!

    Like

  2. alliums are such an easy, knock out feature in your early spring garden. just buy some bulbs at walmart…stick them in the ground and they will pop up, first thing in the spring. and come back every year. no care required.

    nanne in indiana by way of alabama

    Like

Leave a Reply

