a trip through Alabama…

Hi!  Paige here!  Last week I went on a little trip through Alabama with several stops along the way.  It started with jury duty which I was not selected for.  Then I headed up to my hometown in Alabama and stopped to see my parents along the way.  After I finished emails and a few other work items I met my mom at the local flea market.  I love a flea market.  My mom loves a flea market and I think that is where my love comes from.  Here are few items I bought.

This off white chest with the gold painted inlay good handles with a great patina caught my eye.

Love this vintage pendant!

Check out this alabaster lamp! Shad had to go but the lamp is great!

After the flea market I headed out the farm to meet my dad.  We sat on the back porch and talked life, business, vacations, etc.  My dad is a great business adviser and I am lucky to have him always on my side.  We saw a deer in the field below (known as the river field) had a cold beer…ahhhh… and just relaxed as the sun went down.  Anne was still at the office so we all caught up when she got home…

My dad, the farmer, always on the phone.

This lamp on the back porch is rumored to have been previously owned by Loni Anderson!

a shot of the kitchen through the french doors

the view from the side porch!

A view from the screen porch.

The next morning I headed to Auburn and then Lake Martin.  Doug wrote about those trips {here}.  Then from there I headed to Birmingham for a presentation.  I showed you part of our design presentation yesterday. The presentation went great!  Here is my traveling design presentation!

A basket and my Tracery bag ready to go!

Then after the presentation was the afternoon of the terrible tornadoes in Alabama.  Doug, my sister Maggie, and my mom watched intently from my sister’s interior hall and we were very lucky that the tornado missed her house.   We are all so sad about the devastation around Alabama.  There are so many wonderful groups doing so many great things to help out.  It is great to see people volunteer side by side in the midst of this horrible event.  Our thoughts and prayers go out to all affected by this tragedy.

After that night I headed back home and made one last stop by an antique store along the way.

look at all of these awesome vintage ornaments. Makes me think of fun ways to decorate for Christmas! It is never to early to plan!

These are super fun! I have never run across anything like this!

After the trip I enjoyed a dinner at home with my family.  My daughter is home for the summer from her freshman year at college so that made arriving home even better!
XO,

Paige

7 thoughts on “a trip through Alabama…

  1. Oh please do share the names of the flea markets and antique stores you visited! I live here in Birmingham but love to hear of hidden gems I have not yet found!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

