Paige’s dining room before and after…

Hi!  I hope everyone had a great weekend!  It has been full of spring breakers here along the coast!  I am continuing my series about the move of our house.  Again, moving a house was a total EXPERIENCE but we loved it and we love our house.  Check out the living room post {here}… now on to  to the dining room.  You have seen it before {here} and {here}.  So you want to see before and during… here you go!

Pretty... huh?!?

well... here is half..

after...

A better look at our ceiling and lights.

a little closer look.

So let’s go through the steps of the process.  We enlarged the “pass through” to make the view into the kitchen a full bar. We removed the 8′ popcorn (my worst nightmare) ceiling and exposed the structure.  Then we added the Reeves pendants (I love these- they are available through Tracery).  The walls are 1×6 horizontal t&g with a white wash.  The paint color is Benjamin Moore Decorators White.  The furnishings are a mix of antiques and new pieces that we have found and fell in love with.  I like the dining chairs but I am always on the look out for their ultimate replacement but I do love the modern feel mixed with the antique oak table.    The piece above the bar is from my granddad.  It is a gig.  What is a gig?  A gig is what you use to catch flounder.  Flounder is a local fish we have here in our area.  The cut in the floor goes underneath the dining table.  You could only see if it I pointed it out to you in person(which is completely remarkable to me.  We did not refinish the floors as you can see from the before picture.  I hope you have enjoyed a little tour of our dining room.  We hosts lots of dinner parties here, actually we are having one this Friday for a friend’s birthday.

Have a great week!

XO,

Paige

7 thoughts on “Paige’s dining room before and after…

  1. I just LOVE these posts about your house! I’m amazed at the changes…and a bit spooked by seeing half the house rolling down the street on a truck! I’m wondering…where is the A/C ductwork? Do you have any space for insulation above the ceiling now that it’s been raised? Love the look of it so much!

    Like

    • The ductwork is actually across the center of the room above where I am standing for the photo. It is exposed through the living room then the ceiling is dropped in the rest of the house. We have spray foam insulation at the roof and under the house. There is gap between the ceiling you see and the roof line. I hope that helps!

      Paige

      Like

Leave a Reply

