[in the kitchen] Paige’s family favorites

Paige here!  Last night I whipped up an old family favorite in our house that’s great for the weeknight rush.  I kept it simple and made turkey burgers, hash brown potato casserole and green beans.  The secret to my turkey burger is to mix in Italian breadcrumbs, one egg, thyme and cumin.  YUM!!  To accompany our turkey burgers I made my grandmother’s hash brown potato casserole and steamed green beans with sea salt.  Making an old family recipe makes everyone feel good.  What is your favorite family recipe?

5 thoughts on “[in the kitchen] Paige’s family favorites

  1. The following is my grandmother’s recipe. I hope you all enjoy this as much as my family has for years.

    The Recipe for “Myrtle Lee’s Hashbrown Potato Casserole”:
    1 (2lb)package of shredded hasbrowns
    1 yellow onion
    2 can cream of chicken (or cream of celery)
    1 16oz light sour cream
    8oz extra sharp cheddar cheese (shredded)
    40z parmasean cheese (shredded)
    olive oil
    salt
    pepper

    Chop the onion and sautee in a pan with olive oil. Once onions are clear add potatoes and sautee together for 5 minutes. Mix potato and onion mixture, soup, sour cream and 1/2 of the cheddar cheese. Spread in a 9×13 pan. Place in preheated 350 degree oven. Bake for 40 minutes. Add remaining cheese place dish back in oven and bake for 10 minutes. Enjoy!

    -Paige

    Like

Leave a comment