[5 favorite things] Paige Schnell

To conclude our series of 5 favorite things Paige Schnell, designer and owner of Tracery Interiors shares her list:

1.  30A Songwriters Festival

2010 was the first year of the 30A Songwriters Festival.  Many of you have seen it appear on our blog before [here].  My husband Mark and I are two of the founders along with Jennifer Steele Saunders and Russell Carter.  The festival benefits the Cultural Arts Association of Walton County which not only brings arts to our little beach community but also gives grants to local teachers for art supplies.  One thing that we believe here at Tracery is supporting our community and the arts.  The festival included 9 venues and 82 shows over Martin Luther King Weekend.  Everyone had a blast!  The incredible songwriters, the beautiful venues we have on 30A, the enthusiastic attendees and the amazing volunteers made it a great weekend.   Over 100 songwriters participated in the festival and they were all incredible.  I can’t stop listening to the music I bought over the weekend.  If you come to Tracery you will hear some of it playing.  We have already begun planning the 2011 festival so mark your calendars January 14, 15, and 16, 2011.  If you attended the festival this year who were your favorite artists?

The pictures above are from the welcome party we had for the songwriters.  All photos by Sheila Goode of Goode Green Photography.  http://www.goodegreen.com  or http://goodegreen.com/blog/

2.  Coconut

I love coconut.  I always have.  It’s a love/hate thing–some people love it and some people hate it.  I for one love it.  I am not a desert person but I cannot pass up coconut.  One of my best friends Jennifer Green owns Queen Bee Cupcakes in Seaside, Florida.  If you haven’t visited her in the renovated airstream turned fun cupcake bakery on wheels you are missing out.  I love all of her cupcakes but my favorite is the coconut.  Not only does it have a coconut icing it also has coconut in the cake.  For me it is about as good of a cupcake as you can get.

3.   Déjà vu

What girl doesn’t love a cute dress or top?  Or even a great new pair of earrings.  Well, do I have the place for you.  Whenever I need something to wear to dinner with friends, for a photo shoot, or just to freshen up my wardrobe I head to Déjà vu.  Stephanie Nichols, the owner of Déjà vu is always cute and has on such inspiring clothes.  She has two locations including one of which is in Seaside, Florida which I stroll over to on my Sunday afternoon walks with my dog Lucy.  But if you don’t live here you are in luck, she has a website  www.shopwithdejavu.com where you will just fall in love.  Check out this photo of the Tracery crew where my dress and Bess’s top are both from Déjà vu.    

 

4.  Arteriors Reeves Glass Pendant

I love this pendant light because of its versatility.  I have used it several times and it always looks great!  It comes in two finishes antique brass and polished nickel and two sizes.  I love it so much it appears in my own living room 16 times!  We also used this fixture in the Southern Living Idea House we designed last year.  The look can be a little nautical or a little retro, it just depends on your environment. 

[the Reeves Glass Pendant Light in Paige’s living room, above and the 2009 Tarpon Run Southern Living Idea House]

 

 

5.  Sunsets at the Beach

(I know this sounds like an ad for singles looking for love but it is true! ) My favorite spot to celebrate sunset is at Bud and Alley’s in Seaside Florida with my husband, Mark where we watch the sun go down from the upper deck.  They ring the bell daily for sunset and most of the time people cheer.  It is a great way to end the day.  There are other locals that love it as much as we do and they are now our sunset friends.  If you find yourself in Seaside on an afternoon don’t miss the sunset and you might just see us there too. 

P.S.  Local Secret….sunsets are best in the winter because they are over the Gulf of Mexico.

5 thoughts on “[5 favorite things] Paige Schnell

  1. Paige, love all of your Top 5! I agree coconut is one of my favorites….. coconut lovers are a special little group 🙂 There aren’t many of us.

    Like

  2. From far, far away . . . and way up north to Canada I remember Seaside Florida as one of my favourite spots in Florida’s Panhandle. I first discovered the evening sunsets while vacationing on Sanibel Island. I particularly remember the evening everyone was called out of the restaurant and down to the beach as the sun was about to set. First a green flash and a loud applause. I will never forget it. Hope to be back in 2011.

    Like

Leave a Reply

