[5 favorite things] Bess Marshall

Want to know what makes your favorite designer ‘tick’?  What we can’t go one day with out?  Well, we have all taken the time to compile a list of our [5 favorite things], gadgets, foods, accessories…the small details that set us all apart and keep us all sane. We will start our new series with one of our Rosemary Beach based designers, Bess Marshall.

1. Google Reader     

     

As one of the two ‘official’ Tracery Bloggers I feel it is mucho, mucho importante for me to keep an eye on what is going on in the rest of the blogosphere. About 3 years ago I discovered the world of blogging  and had developed quite a list of blogs that I found myself going back to day in & day out. I was oblivious to the world of online feed readers, or as I tell my friends not in the blog world: its email for blogs, everything is in one place. Thank you Stacy Pritchett for helping me to see the light! My life has never been the same & it is purely shameful how many blogs I follow now. Image from here.     

2. Tazo Zen Green Tea     

     

I started drinking green tea daily back in 2004. I started out with Lipton, no offense, but yuck! Starbucks finally turned me on to the Tazo line of teas & I have come to cherish Zen as a part of my everyday existence. Zen boasts a “harmonious blend with lemongrass & spearmint.” I think it’s the perfect blend of flavorings-not too sweet, not too spicy & doesn’t leave that weird dry feeling in your mouth like so many green teas.  I also highly recommend Tazo’s Passion tea. I’m currently using it to try & curb my sweet tooth. Tazo teas can be found at any Starbucks or your local grocery store.     

3. Saijo Persimmon candles by Voluspa     

 

I have had a Saijo Persimmon candle somewhere in my home since I was just a wee little intern here at Tracery. It has a fresh, sweet scent that I can’t get enough of. Everyone is attracted to different scents. Vanilla & woodsy scents have never been my thing & if it’s too floral I get a headache, this scent is none of those. I love the Voluspa candle line [offered in the Tracery Shop] because you can simply leave one of these around the house sans lid, not even burning & people will ask what that scent is?     


4. TNT Roll at Old Florida Fish House
     

     

 The Fish House, as we locals say, is the best place on 30A to grab some sushi and enjoy tunes & dancing. I lived next door for two years and found any reason possible to go see James [sushi chef extraordinaire]: birthdays, girls’ nights, holidays, family/friends visiting, or simply because it was a Wednesday night & why not? I have tried sushi up & down this scenic highway & although I am no expert-this is the best, I promise!  The TNT is definitely the house favorite [& mine]…tuna inside & on top, crunchy tempura batter, avocado, eel sauce & spicy sauce plus lots of things I can’t recall at the moment. It’s amazing. I also recommend the Amazon [bring your appetite for that one], DAT & Spider. If you are feeling adventurous just go sit at the Sushi bar, tell James a few of your favorite things & ask for a surprise. He does not disappoint. Order the Up Town Beef too…so hungry now.

5. bareMinerals Refillable Buffing Brush

This was a life changing purchase for me this year. I love the way bareMinerals makeup looks on my skin-covers up flaws and doesn’t make me look cakey. ‘Cakey’ is an easily achievable look here on the Gulf Coast, especially during the summer months. If you have ever used bareMinerals makeup then I’m sure you will recall how messy it can be. Maybe I’m just too clumsy for a loose powder? Anyways-this refillable retractable brush is AMAZING & so easy. Makes my everyday routine speedier & ‘veil of powder on every surface in my bathroom’ free.

What 5 things could you not get through a day/week/year with out?

6 thoughts on “[5 favorite things] Bess Marshall

Leave a Reply

