sunburst mirrors

It seems like sunburst mirrors are everywhere right now–in all the shops we visit, in every magazine article we pour over and on all our favorite design blogs.  We love these pieces for their dramatic presence and timeless style.

72copy

A small antique sunburst mirror brings big style to a cozy entry space we designed for a cottage in Birmingham’s Redmont neighborhood.  Paige and Doug found this piece at one of our favorite shops, Henhouse Antiques.

 

46

In a conference area we designed for a Birmingham law firm, a dramatic silvered-wood sunburst mirror steals the show.  [photograph by Colleen Duffley]

 

picture-99[1]

In the guest suite of a Homewood, Alabama house, a dramatic double sunburst mirror from the homeowner’s extensive collection of antiques hangs over a demilune chest.  Doug collaborated on the interiors for this space with designer (and homeowner) JB Hopkins.  [photograph by Colleen Duffley]

 

What do you think?  Is this trend one that we’ll keep seeing a lot of, or is it destined to be retired for the next big thing?  We love reading your comments, so don’t be shy!

2 thoughts on “sunburst mirrors

  1. Grandma Nu had a sunburst clock that was beautiful and timeless. I think in the right metal or color they just keep working. Love the first sunburst alot ! I want one ….

    Like

  2. I bought a beautiful antique sunburst mirror 5 years ago from the Stalls Antique store in Atlanta; I visited it every month for about 6 months, then went ahead and took the plunge and bought it. I like to think I was slightly ahead of the current trend! Although, I must admit, I tend to buy things I love and try not to follow the trends. I am currently obsessing over mora clocks, but fear that my obsession is because I have been seeing them in all of the magazines and blogs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

